Guest Reviews

Mauna Lani Point C204
Reviewed: Jul 6, 2015
We wanted to say "Mahalo" for our wonderful 2 weeks at Mauna Lani Point C204. The condo was above and beyond our expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The views from the lanai in the mornings and at sunset in the evenings were gorgeous. We thought the kitchen was very nicely stocked with everything we needed to cook the fresh tuna the guys caught on their fishing trip. The wine fridge was wonderful too! We will highly recommend this to any friends traveling to the Big Island. It is perfect for couples traveling together! The only 2 problems we found, which werent a big deal. 1) The blind cord on the large shade in the second bedroom had come loose from the track. It appeared to have been taped where the ends connect and that had given way. We didnt need to open it since it was cooler to leave it down. 2) The dryer door came open several times when drying clothes. Had to shut it several times when drying loads like towels. Latch may need an adjustment. Hope to be back to the Big Island and to stay at MLP C204 again! Aloha and Mahalo,
View Property: 91981
Hali'i Kai 18D
Reviewed: Jul 6, 2015
We had the opportunity to stay at this lovely property from April 13/15 April 20/15 and cant say enough good things about it. There are an endless amount of choices when staying in this area but the things that stand out above all others to us, is the customer service and the quality of these properties. This is now the 3rd time that we have chosen to stay at one of these beautiful properties and once again were not disappointed ! The condition of the properties and the quality of the amenities are excellent. We cannot say enough good things about our dealings with Wendee and the customer service that she has provided to us through our many stays. Once again our stay was perfect, checking in and out was a breeze, the property was spotless when we arrived and well stocked for a weeks visit for 2. Whether hanging around the area or using it as your base to explore, everything you need is right inside and outside your door ! Wendee, thanks again for having us and we look forward to another return, With Warm Aloha, Scott and Brenda
View Property: 91952
Hali'i Kai 2D
Reviewed: Jun 26, 2015
The condo was in good condition and the location was perfect. Wendee was a pleasure to work with and ready to answer any questions, from the time we made the reservation to the time we left the property. The grounds of Halii Kai are beautiful and the staff at the ocean club are friendly and helpful. We plan to go back to visit Hawaii in two years and will definitely love to return to HK2D!
View Property: 91956
Mauna Lani Point C204
Reviewed: Jun 11, 2015
This unit is perfect for family vacation. It close to the beach and has an awesome ocean view. It is quiet and bird will wake you up in the morning. When we come here next time, for sure we will stay here again.
View Property: 91981
Hali'i Kai 2D
Reviewed: Jun 11, 2015
10 year wedding anniversary We have stayed at numerous places in Hawaii and have visited the islands numerous times and this place was one of the best. Everything was perfectly maintained and clean. The location was private and close to all the shops and restaurants. We will definitely be back to this place every time we visit kona
View Property: 91956
Hali'i Kai 2D
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Thank you again for the great place. We have been to Hawaii nearly 10 times and visited the Big Island 10 years ago for our marriage. This place at Halii Kai was one of the best places we have stayed at. We did have a little hiccup with the A/C but that was fixed immediately. We couldnt have asked for a better place and location. We will always come back to the Big Island and stay in the Waikola area. Thanks again and i look forward to the next trip.
View Property: 91956
Kolea 15J
Reviewed: Apr 21, 2015
We just returned from an amazing vacation on the Big Island, and Kolea 15J served as the perfect home base! The unit is located in the Waikoloa area, with easy access to the beach, as well as many dining and grocery options. The unit itself was spacious and beautifully decorated, with everything our family needed. We especially enjoyed using the beach equipment! We would definitely return again, and hopefully it will be soon!
View Property: 91980
Mountain View, CA
Reviewed: Apr 8, 2015
Wendee Aono at Kohala Luxury Rentals is fantastic to work with! She provided us with great service in renting the beautiful Kolea 15 J villa during my familys stay in the summers of 2013 and 2014 and generously replied promptly with helpful advice that I needed about rental properties when I sought her help this year. I think very highly of Wendee and would be very confident in any future dealings with her though Kohala Luxury Rentals.
View Property: 91980
Hali'i Kai 18D
Reviewed: Apr 7, 2015
We booked this vacation rental through Wendee Aono, Kohala Luxury Rentals. We stayed here for three weeks in mid march. Wow so many positives to note! The unit was spacious, clean and very well stocked. including Weber gas grill, all bbq utensils. Large screen tv 1000 channels. Fantastic wifi 15.28 Mbps .Very quiet central A/C system. Sleep quality here was perfect, window open at night with great cool breeze. Our deck orientation was ideally suited for shade and cooling air circulation. The grounds and landscaping are second to none, even by Hawaii standards. We are about a half hour walk to Starbucks one way. Having the gas grill was a huge money saver, this vacation rental was a great deal as well, would not hesitate to recommend. We were very pleased with the welcoming and attentive service shown to us by Wendee Mahalo Nui Loa ! Dennis & Sara
View Property: 91952
Mauna Lani Point C204
Reviewed: Apr 7, 2015
The saying pictures do not do it justice seem to be meant for C204 at Mauna Lani. This was our third time to the island but first staying in a condo unit. We knew the island neighborhoods well so focused on a few in Mauna Lani and Waikoloa. When we saw C204 was available we jumped on it because of the view. Mauna Lanis south course is our favorite golf course here and hole #15 is the crown jewel a par 3 shot over the crashing waves of the acific below an incredible view. C204 looks out directly over this stunning panoramic view and has an amazing perspective of the entire Hanakaope Bay. If youre looking for a room with a view look no further!! Every morning and evening we would sit and enjoy a coffee or cocktail and take it all in and on several occasions saw humpback whales cruising the bay. It is important if this is your criteria to get a second or 3rd floor unit as well. First floor units have a hedge row blocking their view and several times we saw people on the ground floor standing on stools to get a better picture. The condo itself is terrific. Very well appointed with everything you will need to be comfortable. High quality furnishings, comfortable beds, a wine cooler, TVs in each bedroom it is clear that the owners enjoy living like they do when at home and have taken efforts to ensure that their time here as well as their guests is spent in comfort. We also enjoyed walking the fishermans trail along the ocean in the mornings and evenings a peaceful walk with stops along the way in spots offering information on ancient Hawaiian life here. The biggest surprise was the beach club. You can walk to it from this unit although we drove most days to carry our things. The beach is clean and has a sandy bottom up to about chest high water before getting rocky. The waves are small there allowing easy access for small children. They have rental kayaks and paddleboards on site, a great restaurant and bar, restrooms etc. The bay is called Makaiwa Bay. If you go on line and research the Best Snorkeling on the Big Island youll find that Makaiwa and Honokaope Bays are frequently cited. The coral is colorful, fish are plentiful and the reef is expansive. We caught a couple of calm days and snorkeled out to the buoy where a party ship would anchor carrying a group full of snorkelers. What we found there was these amazing arches in the reef teaming with fish. We never snorkeled directly in front of the condo but there is a buoy there too that a scuba boat came to at least 4 times when we were there. In summary C204 has it all. Proximity to restaurants and shops, the best golf on the island, terrific snorkeling and the most amazing views. We will be back.
View Property: 91981
Mauna Lani Point C204
Reviewed: Mar 29, 2015
We just returned home from our stay in villa C204. From the start we received first class service from Wendee and team with immediate responses to all our emails and very helpful check-in information. The villa was spotless and decor equivalent to staying at a Four Seasons resort. The view was perfect of grounds and ocean and we could have spent the entire time just sitting on the Lani watching whales breach. The kitchen was fully stocked and lacked nothing. The resorts pool and grounds were beautiful. All and all a five-star stay and would most definitely stay there again.
View Property: 91981
Mauna Lani Point C-204
Reviewed: Mar 25, 2015
I would certainly recommend Kohala Luxury Rentals to my friends. C204 is truly a beautiful condo. The owners obviously have good taste as evidenced by the furnishings and the finishing touches. The kitchen is very well appointed with quality appliances, making cooking our meals an easy and pleasurable task.
View Property: 91981
Hali'i Kai 18D
Reviewed: Mar 19, 2015
In short the unit (HK18D) was exactly as advertised. It was impeccably clean. Had all the needed supplies in the kitchen, bathrooms and rest of unit. Internet and tvs worked great. Wendee was very helpful both before and during the stay. Potential negatives for some people might be it is second story so there is a flight of stairs and it is a 5 minute walk to the pool, restaurant and exercise area. Very safe, quiet and clean area both in the complex itself as well as the entire Waikoloa area. If you dont have a good time here there is something wrong with you.
View Property: 91952
Hali'i Kai 2D
Reviewed: Mar 12, 2015
My adult son and I visited Waikoloa and enjoyed our stay at this beautiful town home in a gated community. It is a great value. I would say the only drawback is you cannot really see the ocean from the place, but it is only a few minutes walk to the private club at the end or the road...and it is a great setting at the Oceans edge. It has a great pool, workout facilities, and restaurant (limited menu, but good), We played golf at Waikoloa and at Mauna Lani and will never forget the beautiful holes on the shoreline. Dinner at Ruths Chris Steakhouse was great and we also found a great brew house in Waimea. (Big Island Brewhaus).
View Property: 91956
Kolea 15J
Reviewed: Mar 2, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our month-long stay at Kolea 15J. We are very familiar with this resort, having stayed in various different units over the years. This was one of the best and certainly the best equipped unit we have stayed in. We had some problems with the WIFI but Wendee responded quickly and fixed everything for us. A great place to stay.
View Property: 91980
Kolea 15J
Reviewed: Jan 29, 2015
Absolutely 100% perfect, too perfect... This was our first stay at Kolea and we have stayed in many condos along the Kohala Coast and this one was the nicest we have ever stayed at. The pictures do not do the villa justice. A few things that a renter may want to know, the pictures do not do the view justice. At Kolea there are many units that face other units in the complex and have no view to speak of, this unit is on the second floor and faces the beach and hotel pool next door. The view is quite amazing and even though there is a photo in this listing it really is much better in person. The covered parking is close by and if you have visitors there is ample additional parking. The complex is very well run and picture perfect. The beach club was nice and not crowded, we were able to get a cabana or sit next to the pool each time we went. Access to the beach is great as well, there is also a gate that is a very short walk to the hotel property next door that is great if you want to get a meal or pay to use their pool. We did use the resort pool next door once, they give you a room for the day and it cost $99.00 for the entire family. This unit is very well equipped, clean and decorated nicely. The bedding is top of the line and the beds themselves are very comfortable. The air conditioning works ice cold, although we had it turned off often and just opened the pocket doors and enjoyed the cool weather. There are ample towels, beach supplies and kitchen items. The management company is great and responds to any issues in a timely manner. We loved this unit so much that we extended our stay two days. Our only disappointment is that the unit was booked in March for spring break and we will have to stay somewhere else. Thank you again for a great time and great unit.
View Property: 91980
Reviewed: Jan 19, 2015
We have rented several of the condos at Mauna Lani Point over the past 20 years. We have used other agencies and can tell you Kohala works the best. Unit C204 at Mauna Lani Point is, in our opinion, "bulls eye" for , both the views and sunset. We saw pods of whales everyday. The interior decorating is A+, better than any condo we have experienced and the kitchen was especially well outfitted. We wouldnt hesitate to recommend both Kohala Luxury Rentals and C204.
View Property: 91981
Kolea 15J
Reviewed: Dec 29, 2014
It was fabulous! Is this unit available next year?
View Property: 91980
Reviewed: Nov 13, 2014
Aloha Wendee.. So we had a great time in Kona this past weekend. 18D was in really clean, good condition. The entire Condo was well furnished, and the bathrooms were well stocked. We had plenty of kitchen utensils and all appliances were in good working order. Thank you very much for helping us with the rental of the unit, and making our Golf outing a success. Aloha Bobby & Annmarie
View Property: 91952
Hali'i Kai 2D
Reviewed: Oct 22, 2014
Great location and service The condo was very clean and well appointed. Nicely decorated too. The high quality BBQ on the balcony was great for preparing local fish. The complex has a very nice pool with a hot tub and great outdoor fitness centre. There is a nice bar and restaurant with a good (if somewhat limited) menu. All of the staff were very helpful and nice. Definitely recommend this property and will likely stay there again one day.
View Property: 91956
Hali'i Kai 18D
Reviewed: Oct 21, 2014
Wonderful condo in a lovely community. Well equipped kitchen with modern appliances including a coffee grinder. The ceiling fans allow you to have the widows open so you can enjoy the island breezes. The mattress in the master bedroom is top-notch. The balcony with a great Grillmaster grill made for some lovely dinners. The pool that is part of the complex is quite nice. The condo is nicely decorated with an Island motif. This is a fantastic place to stay while visiting the Big Island.
View Property: 91952
Sausalito - Kulalani 2001
Reviewed: Oct 19, 2014
PERFECT, AMAZING, SPLENDID and def RECOMMENDED I am a bit conflicted as for selfish reasons, I am not sure I want to rave about this condo as I want to be able to reserve it when I go to Hawaii.....however, I owe it to Wendee and the owners for allowing us to stay in their beautiful home. We just returned from a 3 day- turned-7-day-stay at this wonderful condo - we did not want to leave so we continued to add days to our stay until the day we had to fly home! . It was absolutely perfect - spacious, clean, modern, and ammenities galore! The condo was very clean and well-stocked with necessities (towels, soaps, bathroom tissues and paper towels) and MORE (wonderful to have some unique odds and ends (i.e. Mirin and champagne vinegar) for cooking dinner). And having laundry in the condo was a huge bonus. We rarely used the car once we were settled as it was only A 2 minute walk to the pool/gym (amazing community BBQ area/pool/ spa), just a short walk or bike ride to the Mauna Lani hotel/resort and just blocks to the market. Highly recommended (just dont take the dates I want next year!) It was a wonderful vacation and we will definitely return soon.
View Property: 91976
San Francisco Bay Area - MLP C204
Reviewed: Oct 7, 2014
Wonderful views, great condo complex, comfortable unit C204 has great ocean views from the lanai, living/dining areas, and master bedroom. The decor is a sort of warm Hawaiian-modern, quite stylish yet comfortable. Both beds were comfortable, no shortage of pillows! No shortage of TVs either. The kitchen is up-to-date and IMHO has a better than average selection of chef knives, pots and pans, and is well stocked with herbs, spices, and condiments. We were pleased to find several coolers in the hall closet, which came in handy for trips to the Waimea farmers markets, keeping our fresh produce cool and unwilted in a hot car. The Mauna Lani resort also has a really nice grocery (upscale Foodland), not to mention great restaurants (Canoe, Monstera are both great--try appetizers and cocktails at sunset at Canoe). The Point condo complex has a lovely pool/hot tub/outdoor entertaining/BBQ area. The grills in the BBQs were amazingly clean, and a very short walk from the condo. Check that area in the morning for a local paper. We snorkeled every day, either at the Beach Club or at the little rocky beach between the expert and intermediate tees for the 15th hole (you can see the entrance wall from the lanai, under the spreading tree). We had a great time, and our only negatives were that although the condo was generally pretty clean, it could use a bit of extra attention in the corners, but then, Im picky. The lanai furniture was very nice, but we missed having a little cafe table for dinners outside. Be sure to check behind the patio cushions for geckos before sitting down! We had fun watching them on the lanai, they are very cute and colorful. We would definitely stay here again. If you like great and easy snorkeling, this is a perfect spot for you.
View Property: 91981
California - MLP C204
Reviewed: Oct 2, 2014
We enjoyed renting from Kohala Luxury Rentals - - they were organized and prompt in responding to our inquiries, and they provided detailed and clear information on the condo, checking in, and so on. The condo - C204 at the Point at Mauna Lani - had a wonderful view of the ocean, and we saw a large group of spinner dolphins leaping and splashing on our very first morning. Inside, the condo was nicely designed and the furniture was comfortable and stylish. Both beds were quite comfortable. The kitchen was nicely appointed and made it easy to cook a few dinners, with a large assortment of dried herbs and seasonings available. We also used one of the barbecues by the lovely shared pool area - - Ive never seen such an incredibly clean grill before! Its a great area for snorkeling, and we went daily, either to the Beach Club, or to the little lava rock beach in between the 15th hole expert and intermediate tees. If you like to snorkel, this condo is in a great location. We had a wonderful time and were quite happy with the condo. We definitely would rent it again (soon, I hope!). --James, California
View Property: 91981
Palos Verdes Estates, CA - MLP C204
Reviewed: Sep 22, 2014
We have a 20+ year history with the Mauna Lani Point. We know this place and have stayed in many of the 1 and 2 BR units over the years. All of the units have their pluses and minuses that relate to remodeling, views, location and amenities. This one has it all. In fact- we hesitate to post this review, since we would like to keep this a secret. Remodeling/dcor: the dcor and furniture were first class in every room. The master bedroom was spacious and had a section cordoned off as a fully stocked office with a printer that allowed me to work while away. The master bath had a large walk-in shower with a glass brick wall- very classy. The only drawback was a lack of a table on the lanai, since we prefer to eat outside. View: excellent ocean view from the 2d floor that faced the signature 15th tee box and some of the 15th green. Sunset was straightaway. Location: the C building is a quick walk to the pool and Bar-B-Q area. Only E and D are closer. The pool is largely deserted and perfect for an afternoon nap. Amenities: we actually like to cook local foods while on vacation, so the kitchen was a very pleasant surprise. It was also first class all around. The cookware, cutlery and everything else made us feel at home. Everything else in the unit exceeded our expectations. Dont tell anyone- theyll all want to go here. In addition, Wendee was very prompt and professional in answering our questions and addressing our needs.
View Property: 91981
Kolea 15J
Reviewed: Sep 18, 2014
"This quiet Kolea unit has a lovely view out toward Anaehoomalu Bay. Access to the unit was easy and speedy and we got immediate attention when we noted a couple of minor issues with a bent key and temporary elevator shut-off. There were beach toys, chairs, and lots of towels to use and the unit was equipped with everything you might need. We also got the use of a pack n play for our 2 year old grandson, courtesy Kohala Luxury Rentals. Its also in easy walking distance to the Kings Shops and Queens MarketPlace. But the best part was the Kolea beach club which had a sandy bottom pool only 18 inches deep (and little waterfalls) that our grandson loved and the easy walk to Anaehoomalus beach from the club!"
View Property: 91980